Get creative with those garden vegetables

From zucchini to jalapeño peppers — who knew there were so many options for meals in the garden.
I’ve been enjoying trying new meals and things I never thought I’d eat as my garden continues to grow.
It’s amazing the versatility of some vegetables, especially zucchini.
I’m tried such things as zucchini boats (scooping out the seeds and filling the zucchini half with spaghetti sauce), zucchini fries, zucchini cookies and of course zucchini bread. I’ve grilled it, baked it and sautéed it.
My garden also has stretched my horizons. I planted jalapeño peppers for a recipe I found for salsa. When buying the plant, there was a poblano there as well so I grabbed it too.
Well, they started growing long before my tomatoes started to ripen. What was I to do with them? I couldn’t make any salsa yet. So I Googled recipes for each and found an endless supply of options. One of my favorite is chopping up a little of the peppers and mixing them in with cheesy scrambled eggs. Before this if you would have offered me jalapeño eggs, I would have politely declined, but now I can’t get enough.
I also grew spaghetti squash for the first time and have found it can replace pasta in any meal. It makes it a lighter and healthier meal.
With an overabundance of herbs, we started making grilled chicken and topping them with either parsley, cilantro or basil. It’s simply, quick and delicious!
Those are just some of the fun recipes I have discovered.
I never get tired of trying new recipes, especially when the primary ingredients come from my own garden.
Get creative with that garden and get to cooking!

20130909-205601.jpg

Leave a Reply

