Making home-made peanut butter takes some effort

img_2367-1

Last winter when I was going through preserving withdrawal – it usually happens about December – I decided to try something new.

I have always loved peanut butter, and recently had purchased a hand grain mill, that just happened to come with a wheel to grind nuts.

With lots of nuts available around Christmas time, I had as many peanuts as I needed.

Wanting to start from scratch, I got peanuts still in the shell. It did take a long time to shell all of those peanuts, but it was a sense of accomplishment as I took off that last shell and was ready to get going. It was amazing that a huge sack of peanuts only made four cups, shelled.

I looked up a recipe online and started grinding the peanuts. This was definitely a workout, and I enlisted any help I could find, such as my husband as he was walking through the kitchen. By the time I was done, I had a large bowl of ground peanuts.

At the point you can add a little bit of canola oil to make it creamier if you want to, as well as sugar or honey. I added just a little bit of honey, stirred it in and stored the peanut butter in a bowl.

It was very tasty, but I overestimated how much to make by about two cups. The peanut butter has to be stored in the refrigerator and doesn’t keep as long as store-bought since it doesn’t have the preservatives. I enjoyed the peanut butter while I had it, but next time, I think I’ll try a recipe using a food processor I found that looks easier, and I’ll try making a smaller batch.

Until next time, happy garden-fresh eating!

Julie Clements is a Butler County Master Gardener.
Share your ideas for garden-fresh recipes or ways to preserve at julieclements75@gmail.com and some will be featured in upcoming columns.

Leave a Reply

